Investments, Trade and Industry Cabinet Secretary Moses Kuria has gazetted three new Export Processing Zones (EPZ) in Bonje Area, Kwale, Bombolulu Area, Mombasa Count and Mavoko, Machakos County.

Kuria announced made the announcement in a gazette notice dated February 16, 2023.

“IN EXERCISE of the powers conferred by section 15 (1) of the Export Processing Zones Act, the Cabinet Secretary for Investments, Trade and Industry declares the land specified in the Schedule hereto to be an Export Processing Zone,” the gazette notice read in part.

The three EPZs add up to the already functional EPZ in the country under the Export Processing Zones Authority (EPZA).

The Export Processing Zones Authority was established in 1990, by the EPZ Act CAP 517, Laws of Kenya promote and facilitate export-oriented investments and to develop an enabling environment for such investments.

It is a state corporation under the Ministry of Trade and Industry.