President William Ruto on Thursday released the list of 50 people he has nominated for appointment as Chief Administrative Secretaries in various government ministries.

The list consisting of mainly politicians, has seen former elected county governors get a new lease on life including former Governors Evans Kidero, Samuel Ole Tunai and Hussein Dado.

Also in the list are former MPs Charles Njagua alias Jaguar, Isaac Mwaura, Cate Waruguru, Kimani Ngunjiri, Khatib Mwashetani, Millicent Omanga, Ben Washiali and Nicholas Gumbo.

Former Cherang'any MP Wesley Korir, who once specialized in long distance races and blew the whistle on the Rio Olympics scam has been nominated CAS, Ministry of Youth Affairs, The Arts and Sports.

 Wesley Korir. PHOTO | COURTESY

Chief UDA digital strategist and blogger Dennis Itumbi has also made it to the long-awaited list and former teachers union KNUT Secretary General Wilson Sossion among others.

They will have to await vetting and approval by Parliament before assuming office based on the requirements of the Public Appointments (Parliamentary Approval) Act 2011 with Ruto making the nominations under Article 132 (4) (a) of the Constitution.

William Ruto addressing a joint sitting of the Senate and National Assembly. PHOTO | PCS

This comes a month after the Employment and Labour Relations Court in Nairobi dismissed a petition filed by the Law Society of Kenya (LSK) challenging the legality of the position which was created during the President Uhuru Kenyatta administration.

Here is the full list of the CAS nominees: