President William Ruto on Tuesday declared vacancies in the positions of Chairperson and five commissioners of the embattled Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC).

In a gazette notice dated February 14, 2023, Ruto said the posts were up for grabs after the six-year terms of IEBC chairman Wafula Chebukati and Commissioners Boya Molu and Abdi Guliye ended.

IEBC Vice chairperson Juliana Cherera alongside commissioners Francis Wanderi and Justus Nyang'aya all resigned due to pressure after opposing the presidential results declared by Chebukati.

However, commissioner Irene Masit opted to stay put and fight after the president formed a tribunal led by Justice Aggrey Muchelule to consider a petition for removal of the “Cherera Four.”

This comes as the electoral commission is currently being managed by the secretariat headed by CEO Marjan Hussein Marjan.

The head of State is expected to appoint members of a newly reconstituted IEBC Selection Panel based on the recently assented to IEBC (Amendment) Bill, 2022.

In the amended law, the Parliamentary Service Commission (PSC) and the Inter-Religious Council will get the chance to nominate two names to the IEBC Selection Panel.

The Public Service Commission (PSC), Law Society of Kenya (LSK) and Political Parties Liaison Committee will each nominate one person to sit in the panel that will reconstitute the IEBC.