President William Ruto on Wednesday warned the 20 newly sworn in judges of the High Court against being prejudiced in the execution of their mandates as they assumed office.

Speaking during the swearing in ceremony at State House, Nairobi, Dr Ruto appealed to the newly appointed judges to stay true to their oaths of office and be impartial in their work.

The Head of State appealed to the new judicial officers to render their judgments in cases before them in consideration of issues presented and not based on other influences.

“I listened carefully as you took the office and you swore in the name of the Almighty God. As you write those judgements, as you consider those issues, remember that you swore in the name of God. Remember that you also swore to serve the people of Kenya diligently,” urged Ruto.

The 20 judges of the High Court were shortlisted by the Judicial Service Commission last week following a vetting exercise that followed an advertisement published on March 13.

The president also urged the judges not to be intimidated while executing their mandates.

“You have also told us that you will also be impartial and will not be influenced by ethnicity, or religion, and that fear or prejudice will not lace your judgements. That you will not succumb to intimidation, fear or threats from any corner,” added Dr Ruto.

Dr Ruto asked the 20 judges to always stay true to the constitution of Kenya in their work.

“You have told us that in the exercise of your judicial functions you will always administer, defend, and protect the constitution of Kenya. Remember that because that is the basis upon which we are established as a nation,” he urged.

President Ruto appealed to them to make it their personal responsibility to uphold independence, fairness, competence, integrity and dignity in their judicial mandate.

The following below is the list of all 20 judges who were sworn in on Wednesday:

1. Gichohi Patricia Njeri

2. Mongare Josephine Wayua Wambua

3. Nyaundi Patricia Mande, SC

4. Kavedza Diana Rachel

5. Chirchir Sophie Chebet

6. Prof (Dr) Sifuna Nixon Wanyama, PhD

7. Shariff Mwanaisha Saida

8. Nyaga Heston Mbogo

9. Chigiti John Mugwimi

10. Mulwa Peter Mutua

11. Nthiga Lawrence Mugambi

12. Mutai Gregory

13. Wananda John Robert Anuro

14. Mohochi Samwel Mukira

15. Olel Francis Rayola Ochieng Odhiambo

16. Dr Githiru Freda Mugambi

17. Mr. Magare Dennis Kizito Ng'wono

18. Hon Macharia Florence Wangari

19. Odera Teresa Achieng

20. Visram Aleem Alnashir