Yvonne Waweru, a nominated Member of the Kiambu County Assembly (MCA) has resigned. 

The MCA announced her decision to quit through her Facebook on Tuesday, saying she will cease being an MCA in Kiambu County effective January 15. 

“I intend to go back to my profession in ocean governance in the Western Indian Ocean region, which will not allow me to participate in politics and will hopefully allow me to serve my country in a different capacity,” she said. 

Waweru said she had initiated various development projects since she was nominated by President Uhuru Kenyatta’s ruling Jubilee Party in September 2017. 

She thanked her party leader, President Kenyatta, for the chance to serve Kiambu residents for three years even as she bid the political world farewell. 

The Western Indian Ocean region is composed of 10 countries – Kenya, Tanzania, Somalia, South Africa, Comoros, France, Madagascar, Mauritius, Mozambique and Seychelles.