The Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) has listed the names of aspirants who have been disqualified from contesting in the August general election.

The IEBC chairperson Wafula Chebukati publicised the list derived from a list of 241 names forwarded to the commission from the Ethics and Anti-Corruption Commission (EACC) on Saturday.

According to Chebukati, IEBC vetted the names and categorised them as cases under investigation, prosecution, convicted without appeal and convicted and appealed.

The commission also said there are other cases still being probed, including cases of acquitted persons, persons without requisite academic qualifications and aspirants who have been impeached.

Chebukati explained only contestants who have been convicted without appeals, impeached from office, aspirants without the necessary academic qualification and public officers who did not resign within the stipulated timeframe.

The IEBC chairperson also revealed that there are 11 other aspirants still under investigation by the EACC, including one presidential candidate and ten gubernatorial aspirants.

The list of aspirants disqualified for impeachment or removal from public office for breach of Chapter 6 of the Constitution includes Gubernatorial aspirants Mike Sonko (Mombasa), Chitavi Antony (Mombasa) and Kiambu senatorial aspirant Paul Karungo wa Thangwa.

The people whose academic requirements were invalid were gubernatorial aspirants Thuo Mathenge (Nyeri) and Ekamais Jeremias Loromukai (Turkana).

On the list of aspirants convicted of economic crimes offences, but not pursuing an appeal and barred by the court from holding public office pursuant to the Bribery Act is the MCA aspirant for Karen Ward David Njilithia.