Nairobi County Assembly on Thursday passed the Building Bridges Initiative (BBI) Constitution (Amendment) Bill, 2020 alongside four more county assemblies.

The Thursday events increased the number of counties which have passed the BBI bill to 11 with only Baringo County Assembly rejecting the Bill.

Siaya, Homa Bay, Kisumu, Busia, West Pokot, Trans Nzoia, Kajiado, Kisii, Nairobi, Laikipia and Vihiga counties have passed the Bill with 13 remaining to meet the constitutional threshold.

In Nairobi, the city county MCAs passed the bill unanimously with all the 114 county lawmakers backing the BBI Bill quashing earlier fears that the Assembly would go into a division vote.

The motion to consider the Bill was moved by Justice and Legal Affairs committee chair Joseph Komu on Thursday afternoon with MPs George Aladwa and Maina Kamanda lauding the move.

The looming BBI referendum is being pushed by President Uhuru Kenyatta and ODM Party Leader Raila Odinga following their infamous handshake, which DP William Ruto opposes.

County Assembly Speaker Benson Mutura and Majority Leader Abdi Guyo said Nairobi County had set an example for remaining counties to ape and expedite the passage of the BBI Bill.