Embu County Governor Martin Wambora has been re-elected as the chairperson of the Council of Governors.

This comes after they held the elections during a full council meeting at Tamarind Hotel in Nairobi on Thursday.


The elections were held under Sections 19 (2) and (3) of the Intergovernmental Relations Act (IGRA) 2012 COG conducts its annual elections to elect the Executive and Committee Chairpersons. 

All the governors from all the 47 counties were present during the event.


While delivering his acceptance remarks, promised a 'servant leadership' in the face of challenging times.

He said he was humbled by the trust and confidence his colleagues had upon him and was honoured to provide leadership to the committee for yet another term.


“I am greatly humbled by the trust and confidence bestowed on me by my fellow brothers and sisters. I am honoured to provide leadership and direction for yet another term,” Wambora said.

Kisii County Governor James Ongwae has also kept his position as the Vice-chair.


Likewise, Elgeyo Marakwet Governor Alex Tolgos has also kept his position as the Whip.


The high-stake election was another showdown between ODM leader Raila Odinga and Deputy President William Ruto in their unending battle for supremacy in numbers.