President Uhuru Kenyatta conferred awards and honours to individuals for their outstanding and distinguished service to the nation during Jamhuri Day.


It is a tradition that on such occasions, a few selected Kenyans get state commendations by the President of Kenya in recognition of outstanding services rendered to the nation in various capacities and responsibilities.

District committees, government ministries, religious organisations, NGOs or individuals nominate these individuals and the national Honours and Awards Committee in the President’s office advises the president on who deserves recognition.


There are various categories of awards given to various individuals.

On the fifty-eighth Jamhuri day, Uhuru awarded various Kenyans with the State Commendations in recognition of their service in various categories.


The following are the awards the president conferred:

The Head of State awarded Elder of the Order of the Burning Spear (EBS) to Eng. Kishan Singh Gehlot for donating an asphalt processing plant to the Nairobi Metropolitan Services (NMS).

Kishan Singh Gehlot/PHOTO PSCU

Dr Willis Akhwale also received the Order of the Burning Spear award for spearheading Kenya's COVID-19 vaccination campaign. 

Willis Akhwale/PHOTO PSCU

The Order of the Grand Warrior of Kenya (OGW) awards were conferred to world-acclaimed athletes, Peris Chepchirchir and Faith Kipyegon.

Peris Chepchirchir/PHOTO PSCU

Faith Kipyegon/PHOTO PSCU

Sergent Salim Buna of the Kenya Defence Forces (KDF) also received the Order of the Grand Warrior of Kenya.


Corporal Ali Shitialo also of the KDF received The Silver Star of Kenya (SS) commendation.

Ali Shitialo/PHOTO PSCU