Robert Pavel Oimeke was declared the winner of the just concluded Bonchari Constituency by-election.

Oimeke won the parliamentary seat on an ODM ticked by 8, 049 votes (30%) against 12 other aspirants including Opore Zebedeo John (Jubilee Party) 7,279 votes (27%) and Oroo Teresa Bitutu (UDA) 6,964 votes (26%).

Robert Pavel Oimeke receiving the certificate from an EIBC official. PHOTO/COURTESY

The Bonchari Parliamentary seat was left vacant following the death of the former Member of Parliament, John Oroo Oyioka.

The Bonchari by-election attracted 13 aspirants including Oroo Teresa Bitutu who happens to be the widow of the former MP the late John Oroo.

The Bonchari by-election that had a 50.09% voter turnout was marred with allegations of voter bribery by supporters of some aspirants.

In the Rurii ward by-election, Francis Muraya Githaiga of (UDA) was declared the duly elected Member of County assembly for Rurii County Assembly Ward in Nyandarua County with 4,325 votes (58%) against Peter Thinji (Jubilee) 3,132 (42%) and other 4 aspirants.

Francis Muraya Githaiga receiving the certificate from an IEBC official. PHOTO/COURTESY

Voter tallying for the Juja Parliamentary by-elections have also resumed after being suspended by the IEBC chairperson Wafula Chebukati and the results are expected to come in at around 4:00 pm on Wednesday.

The Independent Electoral and Boundary Commission (IEBC) suspended the tallying process for Juja Constituency by-elections following disruptions at the tallying process at Mang’u High School Tallying center by a group of hooligans led by the Kiambu Governor James Nyoro.