Nairobi Governor Johnson Sakaja appointed various known names to the boards of various hospitals in the county as he seeks to restructure the delivery of healthcare in city hospitals.

In a gazette notice, Sakaja picked former Health Chief Administrative Secretary (CAS) Mercy Mwangangi to chair the Board of Directors of the infamous Pumwani Maternity Hospital.

Zahra Mohammed, Evalyne Ikwii Omasaja, Saidi Matokaa, Ali Joram Juma Mkwambaa and Ustadh Hassan Ali Amin have been appointed as members of the Pumwani Hospital board.

Pumwani Maternity College of Nursing and Widwifery board will be chaired by Grace Omoni aided by members Isaac Kiprugut, Diana Kapeen, Albina Wangari Githuku, Hellen Lusala and Alfred Obengo as board members.

Chief Government Pathologist Dr Johansen Oduor was named the chairperson of the Nairobi Funeral Home board assisted by new board members Prof Vincent Onywera, Alex Maina Mwangi, Dr John Nderitu, Dr Edwin Oloo Walong and Eunice Kanini Mutiso.

On his part, AMREF Health Africa CEO Dr Githinji Gitahi will head the Mbagathi Hospital board joined by Edwina Auma Oliech, Martin Kanga Adienge, Joram Fichingo Mwinamo, Faiz Ochieng Magak and Edna Agmetta Akinyi as board members.

Dorcas Kemunto will chair the Mama Lucy Kibaki Hospital board together with Susan Wanjiru Kamau, Jennifer Mumbua Mutunga, Yvonne Peris Alera Makhokha, Ronald Ngala Onianga and Fridah Wambui Nduati as members.

Dr Isaiah Tanui will head the Mutuini Hospital Board aided by Nancy Wairimu Mbai, Brian Muchene, Oliver Chiraba, Salome Mbugua and Samuel Okwany as the board members.