The Kenyan government has announced the disbursement of Sh625.8 million to assist 500,000 individuals in eight counties grappling with the ongoing flood crisis, according to statements made by government spokesperson Isaac Mwaura.

Speaking at the National El Nino Emergency and Disaster Response command centre at Nyayo House in Nairobi on Wednesday, Mwaura detailed that the funds would be allocated through the cash transfer program under the Hunger Safety Net Funds.

The identified counties include Turkana, Mandera, Marsabit, Wajir, Samburu, Tana River, Isiolo, and Garissa.

Highlighting the government's commitment to addressing the dire situation, Mwaura informed the media that relief efforts were already underway in 11 counties nationwide, where both food and non-food items were being distributed to alleviate the impact of the floods.

"The government continues to intensify emergency response efforts in counties affected by the floods. Government has already distributed food to 12 counties, including Mombasa, Kwale, Tana River, Lamu, Garissa, Wajir, Mandera, Marsabit, Busia, Kitui, Isiolo, and Samburu counties," stated Mwaura.

In addition to the ongoing relief efforts, Mwaura emphasized that food and non-food items were strategically stockpiled in four of the most affected counties: Tana River, Garissa, Wajir, and Mandera.

He further indicated that a decrease in rainfall was expected in these areas, providing a conducive environment for the repair of crucial infrastructure.

"The repair of roads destroyed by floods will aid the distribution of essential items such as food and medicine to those affected," Mwaura explained.

The flood crisis has taken a toll on 93,432 households so far, with 391 cases of diarrhoea reported in Garissa, Kwale, Mandera, and Wajir counties.

Mwaura also noted the alarming increase in disease outbreaks, including cholera, malaria, and diarrhoea, noting that Lamu County reported 94 cases of cholera.

As the situation unfolds, 10 counties, namely Isiolo, Homabay, Samburu, Kwale, Makueni, Tharaka Nithi, Lamu, Taita Taveta, Meru, and Kisumu, remain on high alert.

The national death toll stands at 120 people, as the government continues to monitor and respond to the evolving crisis across the country.