The National Assembly Justice and Legal Affairs Committee (JLAC) has approved the suspension of the four dissenting Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) commissioners.

JLAC compiled a report requesting President William Ruto to form a tribunal to probe the four IEBC commissioners led by the commission’s Vice Chairperson Juliana Chera, Irene Masit, Justus Nyang’aya and Francis Wanderi.

The Committee also recommended the suspension of the four commissioners pending the tribunal’s verdict.

“The committee recommends that the president suspend the four Commissioners herein pending the Tribunal verdict,” the report partly read.

This comes after a series of sessions held in recent weeks where the four dissenting commissioners were required to go before the committee to give their accounts after being accused of gross misconduct and incompetence.

Unfortunately, Cherera and her team snubbed the sessions, giving the committee reasons to continue with the compilation of the report without their accounts.

The decision by the four to snub the summons came after Azimio la Umoja One Kenya leader Raila Odinga’s appeal to boycott the sessions.

Their lawyers also argued that JLAC did not have the jurisdiction to prosecute the petitions against them.

JLAC’s report now awaits approval by members of the National Assembly before the president gazettes the suspension of the four.