The seven judges of the Supreme Court are expected to issue a judgment on the eight petitions filed on Monday in relation to the August 9 presidential election by September 5.

The seven are Chief Justice Martha Koome, Deputy CJ Philomena Mwilu alongside Justices Isaac Lenaola, Mohammed Ibrahim, Smokin Wanjala, William Ouko and Njoki Ndungu.

The seven judges of the apex court in Kenya constitutionally have just 14 days to receive, consider and hear all the election petitions before rendering their long-awaited decisions.

Those listed as respondents in the petitions - IEBC, its chair Wafula Chebukati, William Ruto, and six IEBC commissioners – are expected to be served with a notification of the cases petitioners have filed against them on Tuesday and the window for them to respond.

Those listed in the eight petitions are then expected to compile their responses from Wednesday until Saturday before tabling them at the Supreme Court by Sunday.

The court which is headed by Chief Justice Martha Koome is then expected to accept and consider any other weighty matters relating to the said applications on Monday next week.

On Tuesday, August 30, the Koome-led court is expected to respond to the applications filed on Monday as it also convenes its pre-trial conference to issue directions on the petitions.

The petitions, whether separately or merged, will proceed to full trial before a full bench then the judges retreat to write individual judgments and render their decisions on Monday, September 5.

The petitions before the court were filed by Azimio La Umoja One Kenya coalition flagbearer Raila Odinga, Okiya Omtatah, John Githongo, Khelef Khalifa, David Ngari, John Kamau, Reuben Kigame, former Gatundu South MP Moses Kuria and Youth Advocacy Africa.