Eight political parties have signed an agreement to join Deputy President William Ruto-led Kenya Kwanza coalition. The parties have agreed to support one presidential candidate in the August poll.

These nine parties joined Kenya Kwanza during the signing of the coalition agreement joining founding parties UDA, ANC and Ford-Kenya.

Ruto, Musalia Mudavadi and Moses Wetangula were present during the signing ceremony of the agreement at the Ngong Racecourse in Nairobi on Tuesday.

Secretaries-General of Kenya Kwanza's constituent parties signed the document before the same was submitted to the Registrar of Political Parties.

According to the agreement, each affiliate party will maintain its distinct identity while supporting Kenya Kwanza flag-bearer DP Ruto in the August election.

The eight parties which joined Kenya Kwanza include Chama Cha Kazi (CCK), Tujibebe Wakenya Party, The Service Party (TSP), Devolution Party of Kenya (DPK), Farmers Party, Economic Freedom Party (EFP), Umoja Maendeleo Party, Communist Party of Kenya (CPK).

This comes after ANC leaders said on Saturday that any party willing to join the Kenya Kwanza alliance had until May 9, 2022, before the window closes.

At the same time, Mudavadi said Kenya Kwanza is not a coalition party but rather a coalition of parties there for the April 9, 2022 deadline issued by the Office of the Registrar of Political Parties (ORPP) does not affect it.