Inspector General Hilary Mutyambai has ordered police commanders in area where by-elections were held Thursday to charge in court four Members of Parliament who were arrested on Thursday over poll chaos.

Police in Bungoma County on Thursday arrested Nandi Senator Samson Cherargei, alongside MPs Didmas Barasa (Kimilili), Wilson Logo (Chesumei) and Nelson Koech (Belgut constituency) over alleged poll violence.

The allies of Deputy President William Ruto, who were backing UDA candidate Evans Kalasinga, were arrested during the Kabuchai parliamentary mini poll and detained at Bungoma County Police headquarters.

In his statement, the IG also directed the Firearms Licensing Board to withdraw the licenses of the four MPs who allegedly misused them during the by-elections that were marred by violence, bribery and intimidation.

Mutyambai directed Barasa, Logo, Koech and Cherargei to immediately surrender their firearms at the Directorate of Criminal Investigations (DCI) headquarters for ballistic examination.

The police boss further ordered former CS Rashid Echesa, who went into hiding after assaulting an electoral officer, to immediately surrender to the nearest police station by 1pm Friday.

He warned that should Echesa ignore the order, he would be treated as an armed and dangerous criminal as police seek him to face charges after IEBC boss Wafula Chebukati also called for his arrest and prosecution.