Kirinyaga Governor Anne Waiguru has been elected the chairperson of the fresh Council of Governors (CoG).

Waiguru garnered the most votes, beating her Kajiado counterpart Joseph Ole Lenku to take over from the former Embu Governor Martin Wambora.

Waiguru trounced Azimio la Umoja One Kenya coalition Lenku even though Azimio coalition-affiliated governors had numerical superiority following heavy lobbying and negotiations.

Wajir Governor Abdi Mohamud will deputise Waiguru.

President William Ruto led Kenya Kwanza Alliance fronted Waiguru for the position and urged other governors to support her bid.

Waiguru is a second-time governor and her supporters argued that her experience as a Devolution CS placed her in a better position to fill in Wambora’s shoes.

Aside from representing the other governors, in her position as the CoG, Waiguru’s roles include chairing the Intergovernmental Budget Executive Council, which Deputy President Rigathi Gachagua heads.

She will provide leadership in consideration of reports from other intergovernmental fora on county and national interests.

Waiguru will also oversee consultation among county governments and facilitate capacity building for governors.

She becomes the first female governor to hold the seat after Isaac Ruto, Peter Munya, Josphat Nanok, Wycliffe Oparanya and Martin Wambora.