The Kenya Kwanza Alliance is scheduled to deposit its pre-election coalition agreement with the Registrar of Political Parties on Monday.

According to sources, Deputy President William Ruto (UDA), Musalia Mudavadi (ANC) and Moses Wetangula (FORD-Kenya) all signed a separate deal as the outfit’s pioneers which ensures ANC and FORD-Kenya get a 30 per cent share of the government.

The ANC Secretary-General Simon Gikuru confirmed there is a deal among the pioneers of the Kenya Kwanza Alliance. 

He also said their formation does not have the issue of zoning and will work together in some areas to produce candidates.

“There is an agreement between the pioneers of Kenya Kwanza Alliance, which gives us (ANC and Ford Kenya) 30 per cent of the government. This is not pegged on the number of votes we’ll get in the August General Election. We don’t have the issue of zoning but there are some areas where UDA produces governor and we give them deputy and vice versa,” Gikuru said.

Simon Gikuru .

The other parties will be rewarded according to how they will perform in the August general elections.

Since Kenya Kwanza did not form a coalition political party, it technically has until the end of business on Monday to deposit a coalition agreement should it purpose to go to the polls as a coalition.

While speaking in Vihiga, Mudavadi the 30 per cent deal encompasses positions in the Executive, Judiciary and Parliament and it would see the Luhya community bag 22 cabinet slots, 30 per cent judicial and ambassadorial appointments.

Speaking in Bungoma on Saturday, Ruto said the Kenya Kwanza Alliance will equally share the government among its constituent parties even as they expect more parties to join their camp.

“We’ve agreed as Kenya Kwanza Alliance that this government will not belong to William Ruto. This government will be for all the members of KKA. We’ve also agreed that we will share this government equally,” Ruto said.