President Uhuru Kenyatta has nominated Dr Cecilia Mutuku and John Ogallo to the Ethics and Anti-Corruption Commission (EACC) office.

Uhuru announced their nominations on Monday in a later addressed to the Speaker of the National Assembly Justine Muturi.

Muturi in turn relayed the announcement to members of the National Assembly.

“Honourable Members, having received the report of the Public Service Commission on recruitment of persons for appointment as Commissioners, the His Excellency the President has forwarded the two names to fill the existing vacancies. He now seeks the approval of the nominees by this House,” the statement read.

The National Assembly now has 27 days to vet the two nominees based on their qualifications.

“Subsequently honourable Members, in accordance with the provisions of Standing Order 45, I hereby refer the Message from H.E. the President, together with the Curriculum Vitae and other testimonials of the nominees to the Departmental Committee on Justice and Legal Affairs for consideration.”

The committee will notify the nominees and the public of the time and venue for the approval hearing.

After the conclusion of the hearings, the report will be tabled in parliament for consideration within statutory timelines.