The President of Uganda Yoweri Kaguta Tibuhaburwa Museveni has been sworn in again as the president of Uganda for his 6th term.

The inauguration ceremony took place at Kololo Independence ceremonial grounds in Kampala, Uganda on Wednesday, May 12, 2021.

Several heads of state and other leaders were in attendance, including President Uhuru Kenyatta, who arrived in Entebbe on Wednesday morning ahead of the ceremony.

President Uhuru Kenyatta arriving at Entebbe International Airport PHOTO/COURTESY.

Other heads of state include Samia Suluhu (Tanzania), Sahle-Work Zewde (Federal Republic of Ethiopia), Félix Antoine Tshisekedi Tshilombo (Democratic Republic of Congo), Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo (Ghana), Salva Kiir (South Sudan), Mohamed Abdullahi Mohamed, alias Farmaajo, (Somalia), Hage Gottfried Geingob (Namibia), Alpha Conde (Guinea) and Évariste Ndayishimiye (Burundi).

President Yoweri Museveni and the First Lady Janet Museveni hosted a state dinner at Speke Resort Munyonyo  for other African Heads of State and government representatives on May 11, 2021.

Yoweri and Janet Museveni. PHOTO/COURTESY

Museveni on the National Resistance Movement (NRM) ticket, won January 14, 2021, general election with 5.8 million votes (58.64%) of the 9.9 million votes cast, against his main contender Robert Kyaggulanyi (Bobby Wine) of the National Unity Party (NUP), who garnered 3.4 million votes (34.83%).

However, Bobi Wine contested the election results, citing widespread electoral fraud during the election.


The 76-year-old President Museveni took power in 1986 on the back of an armed uprising at 41 and was first elected on May 9th, 1996.

Museveni being sworn in for the first time in 1986. PHOTO/COURTESY

Security was beefed up in Kampala before the inauguration ceremony, and extra caution was taken in the wake of Covid-19.