Members of Parliament on Thursday debated until midnight to pass the Constitution of Kenya (Amendment) Bill 2020, better known as the Building Bridges Initiative (BBI) Bill.

The lawmakers backing the first amendment of the Constitution that was promulgated in 2010 managed to raise the legal two-thirds majority requirement in the National Assembly during the vote on the Bill.

More than 300 MPs cast their ballot, with 235 voting YES, 83 NO while 2 others abstained.

Majority of allies of DP William Ruto voted against the BBI Bill, save for a few, as those allied to President Uhuru Kenyatta and ODM Party Leader Raila Odinga.


Among Ruto-alied MPs who voted for the bill are Kimani Ngunjiri (Bahati), David ole Sankok (nominated), Kareke Mbiuki (Maara), William Chepkut (Ainabkoi), Joash Nyamoko (North Mugirango), Purity Kathambi (Njoro), David Gikaria (Nakuru East) and Gideon Koske (Chepalungu).

During the final vote, 224 MPs voted YES, 36 NAY and 2 abstained from casting their ballots.

Muturi Kigano was Chairman and Otiende Amollo Vice Chairman of the National Assembly Justice and Legal Affairs Committee, which produced a report terming sections of the BBI Bill unconstitutional resulting in ODM replacing Amollo with John Mbadiin the committee.