President Uhuru Kenyatta on Friday declared 4 positions of commissioners of the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) vacant.

The vacancies have been declared following the resignation of Commissioner Roselyn Akombe in 2017 and the other 3 commissioners in 2018.

In a special gazette notice dated April 14, 2021, the president announced, "In exercise of powers conferred in me by Section 7A of the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) Act 2011, I, Uhuru Kenyatta declare vacancies in the positions of four members of the IEBC".

Commissioner Roselyn Akombe resigned on October 18, 2017 while outside the country, hardly a week after the much disputed 2017 general election.

On April 16, 2018 commissioners Dr Paul Kibiwott, Margaret Mwachanya and Consolata Nkatha Maina publicly announced their immediate resignation from the IEBC citing their lack of faith in the chairman Wafula Chebukati.

However, Consolata Nkatha Maina and Margaret Mwachanya went back to the IEBC on On August 24, 2018 to rescind their resignation.

In accordance with the law, the president was supposed to announce the vacancies at the IEBC within 7 days upon receiving the resignations from the commissioners.

The then Government Spokesperson Manoah Esipisu, however, noted that the president had not yet received the resignation letters.