The United Kingdom (UK) has banned passengers landing in the European country from Kenya as it added Kenya to the Red List over rising number of positive Covid-19 cases.

In an advisory from its website Gov.UK, Britain said from April 9 at 4am, visitors who have been in or transited through Kenya in the last 10 days will not be allowed to enter the UK.

It also says British and Irish nationals, and third country nationals with residence rights in the UK who will be arriving in England from Kenya will be required to quarantine in a hotel.

According to the travel advisory, different rules will apply for those arriving into Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland.

“The tough decision was taken by UK ministers on 31 March following a review of the scientific evidence pertaining to the risk of community transmission of COVID-19 variants. As the esteemed ministry will be aware, travelers from all countries are required to take COVID-19 on day 2 and 8 on arrival in the UK,” a letter addressed to Kenya’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs read.

It went on, “of the average of 550 people that travel from Kenya to the UK each week, a significant number are testing positive on day 2. Nearly a third of those testing positive have been carrying the B.1.351 variant, which originated in South Africa.”

Other travellers added to the Red List are Bangladesh, Philippines and Pakistan. 

The alert advises those who have travelled to Kenya that they will need to obtain a negative COVID-19 PCR test result, a medical certificate confirming they are Coronavirus-free, and complete a COVID-19 Travellers Health Surveillance Form before being allowed in.

Here's the full UK ALERT

This comes as Kenya battles a more vicious third wave of the pandemic amid a fresh surge in daily positive virus cases, with the Health Ministry warning that health facilities are overrun.

Last week President Uhuru Kenyatta announced a cessation of movement into and out of Nairobi, Kiambu, Machakos, Kajiado and Nakuru that have recorded the highest virus cases.

President Kenyatta also revised curfew hours to 8pm-4am in the five zoned disease infested counties, while also ordering closure of bars and restaurants and banning public gatherings to tame the fast-spreading Covid-19.