The government of Kenya has declared a Yellow Fever outbreak in Isiolo County following the death of three people and reports of 20 people infected.

Acting Director-General of Health Patrick Amoth confirmed that the first case was detected on January 12th this year while 15 patients presenting with fever, jaundice, muscle and joint pains have been line-listed.

"Out of the six samples analysed at KEMRI, 3 turned positive through serology and PCR. This is therefore to raise the alert in 47 counties, more so the high-risk counties of Wajir, Garissa, Marsabit, Meru, Samburu, Baringo, Elgeyo Marakwet, West Pokot and Turkana," Amoth said.

According to Amoth, the ministry has put in place a national incident management structure to manage the outbreak and is developing a response plan to deploy a rapid response team to Isiolo and neighbouring counties to establish the magnitude and extent of the outbreak determine at-risk population, conduct a risk assessment, initiate risk communication and community engagement activities and to implement integrated vector control measures.

Amoth said the national government and partners are mobilizing resources to support response activities even as he advised high-risk counties to mobilize resources to support response and prevention activities.

Following the outbreak, the ministry of health plans to conduct yellow fever vaccination in Isiolo and other high risks counties, including Wajir, Garissa, Marsabit, Meru Samburu, Baringo, Elgeyo market, West Pokot, Turkana and possibly Tana river and Mandera.